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<channel>
	<title>EmptyMind</title>
	<atom:link href="http://emptymind.org/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://emptymind.org</link>
	<description>In the Beginner&#039;s Mind There Are Many Possibilities</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sun, 07 Mar 2010 03:18:34 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	
	<language>en</language>
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			<item>
		<title>Omniture Summit 2010</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/omniture-summit-2010/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/omniture-summit-2010/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 06 Mar 2010 22:02:42 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[conference]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[summit 2010]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=939</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Omniture
Leaders of the Analytics World
550 East Timpanogos Circle
Orem, UT 84097
Dear Omniture,
I would like to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt thanks to you for your amazing Summit 2010 held in Salt Lake City, Utah. Many conference attendees have also asked me to pass on their sincere appreciation for your efforts in this important undertaking.
Your [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fomniture-summit-2010%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fomniture-summit-2010%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>Omniture<br />
Leaders of the Analytics World<br />
550 East Timpanogos Circle<br />
Orem, UT 84097</p>
<p>Dear Omniture,</p>
<p>I would like to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt thanks to you for your amazing <a href="http://www.omniture.com/en/summit10/agenda" target="_blank">Summit 2010</a> held in Salt Lake City, Utah. Many conference attendees have also asked me to pass on their sincere appreciation for your efforts in this important undertaking.</p>
<p>Your skill in putting together such an amazing panel of industry experts and luminaries was very much appreciated by those present at the conference.  Seth Godin and John Battelle injected their energy and excitement into all of us and we left Salt Lake City with a renewed passion for leading the next digital decade. </p>
<p>On both a professional and a personal level, I really appreciated the time that Adobe leadership took to share with us their vision of the future.  Hearing from Shantanu Narayen and Josh James brought a sense of excitement about what the future has in store.  I couldn&#8217;t have been more impressed with Brett Error, his concluding session is always looked forward to and his willingness to sit down with me individually was more than I ever expected. </p>
<p>As a member of Omniture&#8217;s Customer Advisory Board (CAB), I was able to spend two days before Summit started interacting with an amazing Product Management team led by Bill Ingram.  Bill and his team should be applauded for the amazing work they are doing and the level of customer involvement they are maintaining.  I loved the two days of CAB meetings, lunches, dinners, and causal conversations.  Had those two days encompassed my entire Summit experience, I would have left very satisfied.  </p>
<p>I was also able to attend Mind Meld organized by Matt Langie.  Matt did a masterful job in bringing together a select group of industry leaders to discuss topics that are extremely important to the future of our industry.  I was amazed at the level of talent present at Mind Meld and I&#8217;m sure I took much more from the group than I had to offer.  Thanks Matt for putting together this wonderful event.</p>
<p>Omniture&#8217;s desire to be connected with their customers was a theme woven throughout the conference.  Having a customer representative speaking in every breakout session was extremely valuable.  The only complaint I had was the stress of choosing which session to attend.  There were some tough choices with so many amazing sessions happening simultaneously. </p>
<p>I would be amiss if I didn&#8217;t mention Brent Watson.  I was happy to see a technical flare being brought to the Omniture Summit.  His hard work in developing a technical track and offering highly technical labs was a huge success and I can only see it growing year after year.</p>
<p>There were so many events, I wish I could have cloned myself to be everywhere at once.  I stopped by the Engineering Services lab run by Matt Moss and got to hear about all the amazing projects they are working on with clients.  I&#8217;m sure if I had the time, I would have heard similar stories from the other Client Services labs.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m sure I&#8217;m leaving things out that are worth mentioning, perhaps next year I will take my HD Flip camera and create a documentary of Summit from an attendees point of view.  That would be some great cinema. </p>
<p>Again, thanks so much for an amazing conference, I left Salt Lake City yesterday with a tear in my eye knowing it was over. I have no doubt that it would not have been the success that it was without the presence of such an amazing group of Omniture and Adobe employees.  </p>
<p>Please keep in touch and I&#8217;m in the area, so I wouldn&#8217;t mind dropping in for a visit every now and then.</p>
<p>Very sincerely,</p>
<p>jason thompson<br />
humble analyst</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://emptymind.org/omniture-summit-2010/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>WANTED: Additional Measurment Variables</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/wanted-additional-measurment-variables/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/wanted-additional-measurment-variables/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 18 Feb 2010 02:20:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=932</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Site measurement variables wanted! Would love to find gently used, in good condition site measurement conversion variables. If you have any that fit this description, please contact me with your asking price. 
Five years ago, I remember sitting around a conference room, laughing at the thought that anyone would ever need more than 20 custom [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fwanted-additional-measurment-variables%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fwanted-additional-measurment-variables%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><blockquote><p>Site measurement variables wanted! Would love to find gently used, in good condition site measurement conversion variables. If you have any that fit this description, please contact me with your asking price. </p></blockquote>
<p>Five years ago, I remember sitting around a conference room, laughing at the thought that anyone would ever need more than 20 custom conversion variables.  Oh, how wrong I was.  Today, with one of my Omniture implementations busting at the seems, I&#8217;m looking everywhere for a spare variable to capture new data elements.  </p>
<p>I have already gone through 3 audit rounds, where I systematically weighted each and every one of the 50 custom variables that we are actively using, at the end, the lowest weighted ones were on the chopping block, making way for newer tracking requirements. </p>
<p>Am I alone?  Are there others out there that are facing a similar dilemma and if so, how are you managing your variable allocation and what do you do when you simply run out?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://emptymind.org/wanted-additional-measurment-variables/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Learning From A Twitter Expert (an Interview with @OmnitureCare)</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/learning-from-a-twitter-expert-an-interview-with-omniturecare/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/learning-from-a-twitter-expert-an-interview-with-omniturecare/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 10 Feb 2010 19:35:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[how to]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[support]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[twitter]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=917</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I think I have developed an unhealthy obsession with trying to understand how companies can harness the power of social media to better support their customers and create a sense of community and brand awareness.  I have a laundry list of questions and I thought who better to start with then Ben Gaines, a.k.a. [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Flearning-from-a-twitter-expert-an-interview-with-omniturecare%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Flearning-from-a-twitter-expert-an-interview-with-omniturecare%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>I think I have developed an unhealthy obsession with trying to understand how companies can harness the power of social media to better support their customers and create a sense of community and brand awareness.  I have a laundry list of questions and I thought who better to start with then <a href="http://twitter.com/OmnitureCare" target="_blank">Ben Gaines</a>, a.k.a. <a href="http://twitter.com/OmnitureCare" target="_blank">@OmnitureCare</a>, the face of support and community at Omniture.</p>
<p><strong>1.     How did you get started using Twitter at Omniture?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> I was on my way to lunch with a manager and friend in the ClientCare organization, and he sort of nonchalantly mentioned that our social media strategist thought it would be a good idea to have someone out there, and that they would like me to do it. I had plenty on my plate, but it seemed like a great way to see what was going on in the user community and to help answer questions before they came in as support tickets, so I agreed. The funny thing is that I had never—not even once—used Twitter before setting up OmnitureCare. It was a learn-as-you-go process in many ways, but this was actually a good thing: it allowed me to play around and see what worked (and what didn&#8217;t). There were no pre-established rules.</p>
<p><strong>2.     Are you proactively looking for customers or potential customers with questions, if so what terms do you search for?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> Absolutely. Very few users know, before interacting with me, that Omniture is actively out there and listening—they don&#8217;t know to contact me directly—so I monitor brand mentions and butt in if I think I can help. That’s actually one of the coolest things about Twitter; people throw questions or complaints out there with little or no expectation of follow-up, and then they’re thrilled when they find out that we’re listening and want to help. So, in TweetDeck, I search on a bunch of keywords: Omniture (which includes #omniture), OMTR, SiteCatalyst, SearchCenter, Test&#038;Target, etc. The tricky ones are products whose names are normal words in the English language, like Discover. You can&#8217;t search on them, because 99.999% of uses would be unrelated to Omniture, and it would be overload. So I have to hope that people say &#8220;Omniture Discover&#8221; instead of just &#8220;Discover.&#8221;</p>
<p><strong>3.     Do you search competitor terms? And if so, how do you approach them?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> I suspect that there is a lot of this going on, and I think it&#8217;s a good thing. Companies can&#8217;t hide anymore, which I&#8217;ve had employees of competitor companies jump in on Twitter conversions that I&#8217;m having in a very non-threatening way, and it&#8217;s actually kinda cool. It&#8217;s nice to see that we can be friendly and chat about web analytics overall, even amid fierce competition. I don&#8217;t see it as my role to watch them like a hawk—I&#8217;m out there to support Omniture users and build a sense of community, not to gather competitive intelligence. Sometimes I will monitor competitor terms (depending on my mood, I guess!), but it&#8217;s mostly just to see how they&#8217;re interacting with customers.</p>
<p><strong>4.     Do you turn text alerts on for anyone you&#8217;re following? If so, why?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> I used to do this, but it got to be too much—I kept getting excited that someone was texting me, only to find that it was another tweet that I had already seen. I’m in front of my computer all day at work and much of the time at home, so I think I&#8217;m sufficiently connected as it is. And even though I spend most of my time on Twitter talking about Omniture, I do keep my “All Friends” TweetDeck column around so I can see what people are discussing beyond Omniture and Web analytics.</p>
<p><strong>5.     How much time do you spend each week using Twitter?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> I would estimate that I am somewhere in the 30-40 hour range. That&#8217;s time spent actively tweeting or reading tweets, as well as researching questions that come to me via Twitter (or by e-mail after a conversation got too complex for Twitter). You aren’t the first person to ask me, and it’s a surprisingly tough number to estimate because I’m constantly in and out of TweetDeck for iPhone when I’m not at my desk and it’s always running while I’m at home, where I check in from time to time, depending on what I’m doing. And that number also does not include other social media aspects of my job—writing blog posts, participating in the Yahoo! Group for web analytics, etc. I keep meaning to gather some real data on this, but my brain is split across enough tasks that I never remember to start keeping track when I wake up on Monday morning. I can put it to you this way, though: checking Twitter is the last thing I do before I go to bed, and it&#8217;s the first thing I do when I wake up, so I&#8217;m involved at least intermittently literally throughout the day.</p>
<p><strong>6.     Does Adobe have an internal policy related to social networking that you follow?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> Omniture had one prior to the acquisition, and Adobe will soon release one as well. My role, of course, is slightly different from that of my colleagues who are out there on blogs, Twitter, Facebook, etc. I don’t have details on it yet, but I’m told that it will be similar to the policies implemented by other large companies.</p>
<p><strong>7.     You have become the &#8220;face&#8221; of OmnitureCare. Have you put a plan into place in the case you decided to leave Omniture?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> It’s worth mentioning that having a “face” on our social media presence has been a really powerful thing. It’s difficult to build trust and a sense of community without that. People need to know that they’re dealing with a real person, and that couldn’t be truer in the case of OmnitureCare. At present, I’m the only one who has ever logged in to that account.</p>
<p>We’ve put quite a bit of thought and planning into “next steps” for our social media strategy. What we’ve been able to do thus far has been valuable enough to users that it only makes sense to develop our thinking and try to do even more and do it better. I know you’ve seen @OmnitureUXD out there—Jessica is doing a fantastic job (once again, note that she is a real person and not a nameless, faceless corporate entity) and we are working on plans to add additional social media resources. There is definitely a contingency plan in case a bus runs over me tomorrow or something. We wouldn’t leave the community hanging.</p>
<p><strong>8.      How has using Twitter benefited Omniture? Anything that is measurable?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> A positive and a negative of Twitter is that its effect on customer relationships, technical support, etc. is difficult to measure in many ways. For example, of course we can tell when a Twitter conversation answers a user’s question and, therefore, saves that person from having to call ClientCare or their Account Manager. What’s tricky is that 50 other people—or more—may have seen that conversation and, as a result, not needed to pick up the phone themselves at some point in the future.</p>
<p>One thing that we can definitely measure is the amount of feedback and enhancement requests that we’ve received. I don’t have the number in front of me, but I know of at least one soon-to-be-released feature in SiteCatalyst that originated as a suggestion on Twitter. That’s one demonstration of powerful benefit to Omniture and to its entire user base.</p>
<p>And I think that’s the key. Ultimately, Twitter benefits Omniture inasmuch as it benefits our customers. Being out there talking, answering questions, and responding to complaints shows that we are invested in our users. We want to do whatever it takes to make them successful, because when they get value out of their relationship with us, everyone wins. And if that means I stay up late discussing dashboards and eVars, then that’s what I’ll do.</p>
<p><strong>9.     What makes you most excited about using Twitter for customer support?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG: </strong>Twitter’s “reach” is awesome. As I suggested above, the fact that hundreds of users can learn about the product from a single person’s question means that support and education scale better than ever before. I love when I answer a user’s question and then I see that answer re-tweeted by people who weren’t even involved in the conversation.</p>
<p>You also can’t beat Twitter’s immediacy. Users can fire off questions and get a response from me (assuming I know the answer off the top of my head!) within seconds—and almost always within a few hours. On top of that, using Twitter means that the person asking the question didn’t need to interrupt his or her day to pick up the phone or log in to chat with a support agent.</p>
<p>There are certainly questions and issues that are more complex than is ideal for Twitter, and I do recommend that users contact ClientCare in those cases. But generally, we’ve found that technical support in 140 characters or less is a beautiful thing.</p>
<p>(Can you tell that I could write a book in answer to this question?)<br />
<strong><br />
10. What advice would you have for other companies who are attempting to use Twitter and other social networking sites as a customer support tool?</strong></p>
<p><strong>BG:</strong> Okay, I’m going to try to do this without straight-up plagiarizing Jeremiah Owyang’s presentation at Omniture Summit in 2009. Unfortunately for my attempt to be original, everything he said has been 100% true in my mind. His <a href="http://www.web-strategist.com/blog" target="_blank">blog</a> is a great resource. Anyway, here goes.</p>
<p>I’m naturally drawn to social media. Even though I had never used Twitter before launching OmnitureCare, I was a relatively early adopter of Facebook and blogging. That was huge because the concepts, the norms, and the ethos of social media were already a part of my attitude when I started. They can be difficult to teach—I have seen really bright, really passionate people struggle with customer support via social media because they just don’t quite understand what works and what does not. For whatever reason, I’ve been able to sense how to approach customer support via social media without much formal training. So the advice here is this: find the right person to represent your company out there. He or she doesn’t just know and love your products—which, don’t get me wrong, is hugely important—but also knows and loves social media. But you probably have some of these people in your organization already. After all, Omniture didn’t go out and seek to hire a community manager. I happened to be around already and was interested in the role.</p>
<p>Companies also need to empower their social media representative to affect change on behalf of customers. I have noticed that customers can sense it almost immediately when someone doesn&#8217;t actually have any ability to help. If you&#8217;re out there just to say that you&#8217;re out there, with no actual intent to improve your customers&#8217; experience, that&#8217;s okay—but don&#8217;t promise support if you aren&#8217;t planning to back it up. Your community of customers will not take kindly to this sort of a run-around.</p>
<p>Finally, trust your social media representative. Hopefully, you have found someone who has a good sense of what should and should not be said—if not, making the person the public face of your support team is probably a bad idea. Let the person run with it. They might make mistakes from time to time—I certainly have—but in most cases, it seems to me that users are more forgiving of the occasional error than they might be when using more traditional communication channels because they understand the challenges of communicating effectively via social media. Let the person set goals, SLAs, etc. once they&#8217;ve gotten the lay of the land, and support those goals.</p>
<p>Someone who is passionate about social media, has good communication skills, knows your products and organization, and is empowered to truly help can do marvelous things for your company using social media. That much is crystal clear to us.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Understanding Statistical Significance with Omniture Test &amp; Target</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/understanding-statistical-significance-with-omniture-test-target/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/understanding-statistical-significance-with-omniture-test-target/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 07 Feb 2010 18:42:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[how to]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[statistics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[test & target]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=858</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Already 2010 is feeling like the year of optimization. Everywhere I look, I&#8217;m seeing conversations about A&#124;B and MVT testing, optimizing conversion flows, and understanding statistical significance.
When I first started running A&#124;B tests, everything I did was on faith.  I had good intention, I measured all the key indicators, but I had no idea how [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Funderstanding-statistical-significance-with-omniture-test-target%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Funderstanding-statistical-significance-with-omniture-test-target%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>Already 2010 is feeling like the year of optimization. Everywhere I look, I&#8217;m seeing conversations about A|B and MVT testing, optimizing conversion flows, and understanding statistical significance.</p>
<p>When I first started running A|B tests, everything I did was on faith.  I had good intention, I measured all the key indicators, but I had no idea how to tackle the question of &#8220;yeah but, is it statistically significant?&#8221;  Then I began to crawl as I experimented with online calculators and eventually I moved on to building out my own formulas in Excel but still there was little confidence in myself, let alone the test results.</p>
<p>Eventually I began to experiment with testing tools like Google Web Optimizer, Amadesa, and Omiture Test &amp; Target.  This seemed to make life so much simpler as all the questions I was being asked were answered right in the testing application.  Is it significant?  Amadesa says they are 98% confident in the results.  What is the lift we are seeing? Google Web Optimizer says its 8.5% and as a bonus it gives the confidence interval.</p>
<p>While I think it is extremely valuable to have your testing and optimization platform provide the key statistical measures that relate to your test, I think it is just as important to understand the math behind the reports, after all, you can&#8217;t call yourself a &#8220;car guy&#8221; or a &#8220;car girl&#8221; if you drive on the gauges alone and you don&#8217;t understand how the underlying systems work.</p>
<hr />Let&#8217;s walk through an example campaign to understand how Omniture Test &amp; Target calculates the statistics behind the results.</p>
<p>For our campaign, lets assume the following facts:</p>
<ol>
<li>Our campaign has two treatments, a control and one alternative.</li>
<li>The control has had <strong>4,008</strong> visitors</li>
<li>The alternative has had <strong>4,003</strong> visitors</li>
<li>The control has had <strong>377</strong> conversions</li>
<li>The alternative has had <strong>355</strong> conversions</li>
</ol>
<h2>#1 &#8211; Conversion Rate</h2>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/cr1.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-866" title="Conversion Rate" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/cr1-300x38.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="38" /></a></p>
<p>Conversion rate equals the number of conversions divided by the number of starts, in this example we are using visitors but this can be visits, impressions, unique starts, etc. depending on how you measure site conversion.</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/cr_calc.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-864" title="Conversion Rate Calculation" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/cr_calc.jpg" alt="" width="290" height="50" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Conversion Rate (control) = 377 / 4,008 = 9.41%</strong></p>
<p><strong>Conversion Rate (alternative) = 355 / 4003 = 8.87%</strong></p>
<h2>#2 &#8211; Standard Deviation</h2>
<p>Standard Deviation shows how much variation (measures the spread or dispersion of a set of data) there is from the &#8220;average&#8221; (mean).  As conversion rate is a <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binomial_distribution" target="_blank">binomial distribution</a>, either a visitor converts or does not convert, the binomial distribution for variance is used:</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz001.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-870" title="Variance" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz001.jpg" alt="" width="193" height="32" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Variance (control) = 9.41(1 &#8211; 9.41) = 0.09</strong></p>
<p><strong>Variance (alternative) 8.87(1 &#8211; 8.87) = 0.08</strong></p>
<p>To calculate Standard Deviation from the variance, we take the square root of the variance:</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz0011.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-878" title="Standard Deviation " src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz0011.jpg" alt="" width="289" height="41" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Standard Deviation (control) = SQRT(0.09) = 0.29</strong></p>
<p><strong>Standard Deviation (alternative) = SQRT(0.08) = 0.28</strong></p>
<h2><strong>#3 &#8211; Standard Error</strong></h2>
<p>The Standard Error is the estimated Standard Deviation of the error; the &#8220;noise&#8221; in the result.  The Standard Error is calculated in order to calculate to <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Signal-to-noise_statistic" target="_blank">Signal-to-Noise ratio</a>.</p>
<p>To calculate the Standard Error for the Control:</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz002.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-882" title="Standard Error (control)" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz002-300x73.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="73" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Standard Error (control) = SQRT(0.09 / 4008) = 0.005</strong></p>
<p>To calculate the Standard Error for the alternative:</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz003.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-885" title="Standard Error (alternative)" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz003-300x66.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="66" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Standard Error (alternative) = SQRT((0.09 / 4008) + (0.08 / 4003)) = 0.006</strong></p>
<h2><strong># 4 &#8211; Signal-to-Noise Ratio</strong></h2>
<p>To calculate the Signal-to-Noise ratio:</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz004.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-888" title="Signal-to-Noise" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz004.jpg" alt="" width="258" height="79" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Signal-to-Noise = (9.41 &#8211; 8.87) / 0.006 = 0.84</strong></p>
<p>OK&#8230;.stay with me&#8230;..we are almost there.</p>
<h2>#5 Finally We Arrive At Confidence</h2>
<p>We will make use of the Signal-to-Noise ratio to calculate confidence using the <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Student's_t-test" target="_blank">Student&#8217;s T-Test</a>.</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz005.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-890" title="Student's T-Test" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz005-300x40.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="40" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Student&#8217;s T-Test = 1 &#8211; TDIST(0.84,(4003 + 4008 -2),2) = 0.60</strong></p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/SafariScreenSnapz0011.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-894" title="Significance" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/SafariScreenSnapz0011-300x39.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="39" /></a></p>
<p>As reported by Test &amp; Target, we are 60% confident in the current results.</p>
<div><span style="font-family: Tahoma, 'Times New Roman', 'Bitstream Charter', Times, serif; font-size: small;"><br />
</span></div>
<hr />
<h2>Extra Credit: Confidence Intervals</h2>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/SafariScreenSnapz002.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-898" title="Confidence Interval" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/SafariScreenSnapz002-300x39.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="39" /></a></p>
<p>The Confidence Interval shows how much your test results can vary and still be within a predetermined confidence level.  Standard confidence levels are 90%, 95%, 99%, and 99.5%.  Omniture Test &amp; Target uses the 95% confidence level.</p>
<p>To calculate the Confidence Interval:</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz0012.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-902" title="Confidence Interval" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz0012-300x72.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="72" /></a></p>
<p><strong>Confidence Interval = 1.96(0.28 / SQRT(4003)) = 0.008</strong></p>
<p>1.96 is a constant in this formula.  1.96 is equal to z*, which is taken from a Standard Normal Critical Values table based on 95%  Confidence Level.  The Standard Normal Critical Values Table can be found in any introductory level statistics book.</p>
<div><span style="font-family: Tahoma, 'Times New Roman', 'Bitstream Charter', Times, serif; font-size: small;">Now that we have determined our Confidence Interval, we can calculate the +- of our test results:</span></div>
<div><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz0021.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-906" title="High Low" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/PreviewScreenSnapz0021.jpg" alt="" width="220" height="52" /></a></div>
<div><strong>High Bound = 8.87% + 0.008 = 9.75%</strong></div>
<div><strong>Low Bound = 8.87% &#8211; 0.008 = 7.99%</strong></div>
<p></p>
<div>Giving us the Confidence Interval as reported in Test &amp; Target of <strong>7.99% to 9.75%, </strong>meaning given the current volume, we are 95% confident that our conversion rate will fall between 7.99% and 9.75%.</div>
<div><span style="font-family: Tahoma, 'Times New Roman', 'Bitstream Charter', Times, serif; font-size: small;"><br />
</span></div>
<div><span style="font-family: Tahoma, 'Times New Roman', 'Bitstream Charter', Times, serif; font-size: small;"><br />
</span></div>
<blockquote><p>
The formulas in this post have been provided by Omniture consulting.  The screenshots have been taken from Omniture Test &#038; Target and have been modified for the purpose of this example.
</p></blockquote>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Validating Page Tags with HttpFox</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/validating-page-tags-with-httpfox/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/validating-page-tags-with-httpfox/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 03 Feb 2010 20:20:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[code]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[google analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=822</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Whether you are validating the deployment of a new measurement solution, testing enhanced page tracking, or debugging an issue with your site, having quick access to the data your site measurement tool is collecting is a must.
I have used debugger tools provided by the web analytics vendors, I have used network analyzers like Charles, Ethereal, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fvalidating-page-tags-with-httpfox%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fvalidating-page-tags-with-httpfox%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>Whether you are validating the deployment of a new measurement solution, testing enhanced page tracking, or debugging an issue with your site, having quick access to the data your site measurement tool is collecting is a must.</p>
<p>I have used debugger tools provided by the web analytics vendors, I have used network analyzers like <a href="http://www.charlesproxy.com/" target="_blank">Charles</a>, <a href="http://www.ethereal.com/" target="_blank">Ethereal</a>, and <a href="http://www.wireshark.org/" target="_blank">Wireshark</a> and tools built specifically for web analytics like <a href="http://webanalyticssolutionprofiler.com/" target="_blank">WASP</a>.</p>
<p>However, I find myself always going back to <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/6647" target="_blank">HttpFox</a>. It&#8217;s Clean. It&#8217;s simple. It&#8217;s so easy to use, after I was introduced to it by my friend <a href="http://twitter.com/sandersitos" target="_blank">Michael Sanders</a>, I went on to train everyone from quality assurance engineers to CEOs on how to use HttpFox to answer the question &#8220;what variables are we capturing on this page?&#8221;</p>
<p><strong>How do I use HttpFox to validate my web analytics page tags?</strong><em> </em></p>
<p>1.  Add the <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/downloads/latest/6647/addon-6647-latest.xpi?src=addondetail">HttpFox Firefox extension</a> to your browser.</p>
<p>2. Once you have installed the extension and have restarted Firefox, you will notice a new icon in your status bar.<br />
<img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-826" title="foxicon" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/foxicon.jpg" alt="" width="154" height="24" /></p>
<p>3. Activate HttpFox by clicking the icon in the status bar.<br />
<a rel="lightbox" href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/foxempty.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-829" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/foxempty-300x110.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="110" /></a></p>
<p>4. Click the Start button and navigate to a page on your site.  You will see a long list of records rolling in, don&#8217;t worry, in the next step we will talk about searching for the one record that matters.</p>
<p>5. Depending on what measurement solution you are using, the search string will be different.  Here is a list of search strings that I use most often:</p>
<blockquote><p><strong>Google Analytics</strong> = _utm.gif<br />
<strong>Yahoo Analytics</strong> = a.analytics.yahoo<br />
<strong>Omniture</strong> = /b/ss/</p></blockquote>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/foxsearch.jpg"><img src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/foxsearch.jpg" alt="" /></a></p>
<p>6.  Click on the Query String tab and you can quickly see all the name-value pairs that are being sent to your analytics provider.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>5</slash:comments>
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		<title>Omniture Break Even Calculator</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/break-even-calculator/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/break-even-calculator/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 01 Feb 2010 01:02:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[api]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[code]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=752</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[With all the chatter on Twitter about the upcoming Omniture Summit, I began to reminisce about last year&#8217;s summit.  Last year at this time, my colleague Hila Strong and I were just finding out that we had won the inaugural Omniture Developer Challenge. I thought now was as good a time as any to [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fbreak-even-calculator%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fbreak-even-calculator%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>With all the chatter on Twitter about the upcoming Omniture Summit, I began to reminisce about last year&#8217;s summit.  Last year at this time, my colleague <a href="http://twitter.com/hilamonster" target="_blank">Hila Strong</a> and I were just finding out that we had won the inaugural <a href="http://blogs.omniture.com/2009/03/27/announcing-the-new-25000-developer-connection-partner-challenge/" target="_blank">Omniture Developer Challenge</a>. I thought now was as good a time as any to celebrate the anniversary of our accomplishment.</p>
<p>The Break Even Calculator calculates the $ value of visitors at a funnel conversion event. This value is then compared before and after a site revision or marketing event.</p>
<p><img src="http://emptymind.org/images/be_app.jpg" alt="" /></p>
<p>This can be done using a simple calculated metric in SiteCatalyst, however the Break Even Calculator goes one step further and calculates a break even point. What your conversion rate <strong><span style="text-decoration: underline;">SHOULD</span></strong> be for revenue to break even or increase.</p>
<p>The Break Even Calculator will work for any conversion funnel on your site. As part of the installation process, start events and completion events can be defined. These events could be Omniture pre-defined events, custom events, or a combination of both. The conversion rates will be calculated using the two events selected by the end-user.</p>
<p>If you are interested in using the calculator or simply interested in seeing what we developed, feel free to download the code base and documentation from the <a href="http://emptymind.org/projects1/omniture-break-even-calculator/">product page</a>.  You are more than welcome to extend the application to best meet your business needs.  If you find the application useful, extend the application, or have general feedback, I&#8217;d love to hear about it.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Omniture ClickMap Data Accuracy</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/omniture-clickmap-data-accuracy/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/omniture-clickmap-data-accuracy/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 30 Jan 2010 20:38:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Uncategorized]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[click tracking]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[clickmap]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[heat map]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=753</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I set out to test the data accuracy of Omniture&#8217;s ClickMap tool and the heat map tool offered by CrazyEgg.  I quickly found it difficult and frustrating to run a clean test.  So, I decided to simplify the test and measure the perforce of each tool separately.
I also want to be clear, that [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fomniture-clickmap-data-accuracy%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fomniture-clickmap-data-accuracy%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>I set out to test the data accuracy of Omniture&#8217;s ClickMap tool and the heat map tool offered by CrazyEgg.  I quickly found it difficult and frustrating to run a clean test.  So, I decided to simplify the test and measure the perforce of each tool separately.</p>
<p>I also want to be clear, that the point of this experiment is not to debate Omniture ClickMap vs. CrazyEgg.  They are two separate products, with different pricing and distribution structures.</p>
<p>I see ClickMap and CrazyEgg as being complimentary tools.  ClickMap is great for measuring ongoing site behavior, it can easily be tied to site conversion, and is great for measuring sites with dynamic content.  CrazyEgg is best suited for structured tests, the run for a pre-determined period of time and for measuring exact click locations to better understand creative placement.</p>
<blockquote><p><strong>NOTE:</strong> This test covers the out-of-the-box deployment of ClickMap. I did not test the impact of dynamic pages. For sites that use highly dynamic pages, Omniture recommends using s_ObjectID tracking.  Speak with your Omniture representive about updating your code to automatically assign unique IDs for link tracking.  Also refer to my post <a href="http://emptymind.org/omniture-clickmap-s_objectid/">Omniture ClickMap &amp; s_ObjectID</a></p></blockquote>
<p>I tested the following link types:</p>
<ol>
<li>CSS styled drop down menus</li>
<li>Text links that open in a new window</li>
<li>Text Links that open in the same window</li>
<li>HTML Form button</li>
<li>Photo wrapped with an href</li>
<li>A button with no destination link</li>
<li>Flash Banner</li>
</ol>
<h2>Drop Down Menus</h2>
<p><a rel="lightbox" href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/dropdown1.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-776" title="dropdown" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/dropdown1.jpg" alt="" width="316" height="95" /></a><br />
I was pleasantly surprised to see that ClickMap accurately, I clicked each link 5 times and the overlay reported 5 clicks on each link, tracked clicks on drop down menus.  Again, the accuracy will depend on the technology you use to create your drop down menus but for CSS styled menus, ClickMap works great, with one exception.  If the link in the drop down menu opens in a new window (i.e. target=&#8221;_blank&#8221;), ClickMap did not record a click on this link.</p>
<h2>Text Links (New Window)</h2>
<h2><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/text_new1.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-778" title="text_new" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/text_new1.jpg" alt="" width="964" height="82" /></a></h2>
<p>I tested two different link types.  One I call simple links, a standard link with no query string parameters and complex links, a link that contains query string parameters. In this test, the links open in a new window (i.e. target=&#8221;_blank&#8221;).  Again, 5 clicks equaled 5 clicks in the ClickMap report.</p>
<h2>Text Links (Same Window)</h2>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/text_new1.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-778" title="text_new" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/text_new1.jpg" alt="" width="964" height="82" /></a></p>
<p>The same two links from the previous test, this time the links opened in the same window, and with the previous test 5 for 5 on the click tracking.</p>
<h2>HTML Form Button</h2>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/button.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-783" title="button" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/button.jpg" alt="" width="161" height="48" /></a></p>
<p>I deployed a simple HTML form with a button that navigates to a new page.  I had heard complaints that buttons were not accurately tracked with ClickMap but I found in my test 5 clicks were recorded 5 times.   It should be noted that the action of the button is a URL and not a function, if the action was a function, my guess is that the button would not be properly tracked with ClickMap.</p>
<h2>Photo Link</h2>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/photo.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-785" title="photo" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/photo.jpg" alt="" width="338" height="420" /></a></p>
<p>Again, another 5 out of 5!  Go DWill!!!</p>
<h2>A Big Button That Does Nothing</h2>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/big_button.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-787" title="big_button" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/big_button-300x296.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="296" /></a></p>
<p>As expected, ClickMap did not record clicks on the big button that goes nowhere.</p>
<h2>Flash Banner</h2>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/SafariScreenSnapz001.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-788" title="SafariScreenSnapz001" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/SafariScreenSnapz001-300x46.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="46" /></a></p>
<p>ClickMap did not record any clicks on the Flash banner.</p>
<blockquote><p><strong>NOTE: </strong>Click tracking on Flash applications is not supported by the out-of-the-box ClickMap solution, however Omniture does have a Flash tracking solution which does support ClickMap tracking, please contact your Omniture representative.</p></blockquote>
<p>By no means was this test scientifically rigorous, there are many different factors that can impact the accuracy of the ClickMap data, however what I hoped to prove was that ClickMap is directionally correct.</p>
<p>In the end, ClickMap should be used as an indicator, as to which areas of your site navigation are working and which areas warrant further analysis.  No conclusions should be reached based on the results of ClickMap data alone, however as part of a more formal analysis and for use as a directional indicator, ClickMap is a very solid tool that should not be dismissed.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>5</slash:comments>
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		<item>
		<title>Improve Your Product Through (Negative) Feedback</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/improve-your-product-through-negative-feedback/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/improve-your-product-through-negative-feedback/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 28 Jan 2010 20:05:19 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Tao of J]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[corporate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[customer service]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[feedback]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social networks]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=738</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In grad school, I took a class on the management style of Machiavelli&#8217;s The Prince vs. the management style of Lao Tzu&#8217;s Tao Te Ching.  I had always been drawn to Eastern philosophies and the words of the Tao spoke my language.  I was hooked.
Over the past couple of days, I have had numerous conversations [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fimprove-your-product-through-negative-feedback%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fimprove-your-product-through-negative-feedback%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>In grad school, I took a class on the management style of Machiavelli&#8217;s <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Prince" target="_blank"><em>The Prince</em></a> vs. the management style of Lao Tzu&#8217;s <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tao_Te_Ching" target="_blank"><em>Tao Te Ching</em></a>.  I had always been drawn to Eastern philosophies and the words of the Tao spoke my language.  I was hooked.</p>
<p>Over the past couple of days, I have had numerous conversations with friends, colleagues, and industry experts, that have caused me to take pause and reevaluate the way I work, the way I interact with people, and my general principles in which I conduct business.</p>
<p>Yesterday, I was called out as being a &#8220;complainer&#8221; and I wondered if that was true, and if I was really adding any value to my industry or if my opinions even mattered at all.  And then I thought, I left my first job out of college because the company I worked for was full of corporate clones, they all spoke the same language, they all nodded in unison when the big guy talked.</p>
<p>I don&#8217;t want to be right all the time.  I don&#8217;t want to be surrounded by people who agree with everything I say or do.  I want to be challenged, if I&#8217;m always right, then how can I ever progress past the current state that I am in?</p>
<p>In Chapter 61 of the Tao, Lao Tzu says &#8220;The Master considers those who point out his faults as his most benevolent teachers.&#8221;  If we aren&#8217;t open to feedback, to criticism, and to ideas that differ from our own, we will never grow, we will never learn.</p>
<p>You may be asking yourself at this point &#8220;great, so how does this relate to web analytics and site optimization?&#8221;  Glad you asked.  In our role as analysts, we often challenge and are challenged based on the facts that we present.  The great analysts know that they will never make everyone happy and it&#8217;s not about being a &#8220;complainer&#8221; or being &#8220;negative&#8221; or being a &#8220;cynic&#8221;, it&#8217;s about being critical and questioning, questioning, questioning.</p>
<p>So, regardless of the role you are in, marketeer, product manager, web analyst, site optimizer, or CEO, if you want to create something great, be open to feedback (both positive and negative), if you want to be mired in mediocrity, surround yourself by people who readily agree with you, people who never push you to improve, people who never challenge you to transcend your limits.</p>
<p><em><em>&#8220;</em>To think for yourself you must question authority and learn how to put yourself in a state of vulnerable, open-mindedness; chaotic, confused, vulnerability to inform yourself.<em>&#8220;</em></em></p>
<p><em>~James Maynard Keenan<br />
</em></p>
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		<title>Amadesa &amp; Omniture Integration</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/amadesa-omniture-integration/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/amadesa-omniture-integration/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 26 Jan 2010 23:49:48 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[omniture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[amadesa]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[code]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[how to]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[integration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[optimization]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/amadesa-omniture-integration/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Over a year ago, I had the opportunity to speak with Amadesa about creating an integration between their testing platform and Omniture SiteCatalyst/Discover.  Having used Amadesa for A&#124;B testing, I was happy with the reporting they provided but I was always finding myself wanting more.  I wanted the ability to further dig into the performance [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Famadesa-omniture-integration%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Famadesa-omniture-integration%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>Over a year ago, I had the opportunity to speak with <a href="http://amadesa.com/" target="_blank">Amadesa</a> about creating an integration between their testing platform and Omniture SiteCatalyst/Discover.  Having used Amadesa for A|B testing, I was happy with the reporting they provided but I was always finding myself wanting more.  I wanted the ability to further dig into the performance of tests I was running using Omniture Discover in order to find hidden gems that were not easily uncovered in the Amadesa reports.</p>
<p>From that conversation, a straight forward integration was born between Amadesa and Omniture.  If you are running both Amadeas and Omniture, there is no reason why you shouldn&#8217;t have the two products integrated, here is how:</p>
<p>1.  <strong>Set up your A|B test using Amadesa. </strong> Contact your Amadesa representative for details on how to assign each test treatment a unique identifier that can be passed to Omniture.</p>
<p>2. <strong>Configure a Custom Conversion variable in Omniture.</strong> Identify an available eVar that will be used to capture test treatment identifiers.  In my line of business, optimization is a critical component of the online business and I have dedicated multiple conversion variables used for tracking on-going optimization efforts.  e.g. Home Page Optimization, Sign-up Optimization, etc.</p>
<p>3.  <strong>Locate Omniture Page Code. </strong>The page code will look something like the code example  below.</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/pagecode.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-731" title="pagecode" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/pagecode.jpg" alt="" width="653" height="341" /></a></p>
<p>4. <strong>Update Omniture Page Code.</strong> Update the page code to include a reference to the Amadesa integration variable.  For example, if you are capturing your Amadesa treatment version in eVar5, you would update your page code as follows:</p>
<p><em><strong>s.eVar5 = (window.amadesaVesrion) ? amadesaVersion:&#8221;";</strong></em></p>
<p>5. <strong>Deploy &amp; Test.</strong> Deploy your updated code and run your Amadesa report in SiteCatalyst to verify data is being tracked correctly.</p>
<p><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/amadesa.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-732" title="amadesa" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/amadesa.jpg" alt="" width="574" height="202" /></a></p>
<p>The real power of the Amadesa/Omniture Integration is the ability to uncover hidden gems.  If you have the Omniture Discover product, you can explore how unique segments of your population are reacting to your test treatments.</p>
<p>Perhaps Amadesa is reporting that each of your test treatments are performing worse than your control, however upon further analysis, you discover that paid traffic is converting at a 60% lift for one of your test treatments.  This gem would have been lost if you were simply relying on the out-of-the-box Amadesa reports but now, with your shiny new integration, you can target this test treatment to your paid traffic and watch the ROI roll in.</p>
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		<title>How Twitter Saved Qwest a Customer</title>
		<link>http://emptymind.org/how-twitter-saved-qwest-a-customer/</link>
		<comments>http://emptymind.org/how-twitter-saved-qwest-a-customer/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 20 Jan 2010 19:50:27 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jason</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[corporate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[customer service]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social networks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[support]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[twitter]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://emptymind.org/?p=714</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[For 3 days, I was unable to access my FTP server on GoDaddy and I was starting to panic.   I begrudgingly reached for the phone and dialed their support number (a toll number at that).  After a 15 minute wait and a 45 minute phone call, it was determined that the problem either [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div class="tweetmeme_button" style="float: right; margin-left:10px; margin-top: -50px;"><a href="http://api.tweetmeme.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fhow-twitter-saved-qwest-a-customer%2F"><img src="http://api.tweetmeme.com/imagebutton.gif?url=http%3A%2F%2Femptymind.org%2Fhow-twitter-saved-qwest-a-customer%2F" height="61" width="51" /></a></div><p>For 3 days, I was unable to access my FTP server on GoDaddy and I was starting to panic.   I begrudgingly reached for the phone and dialed their support number (a toll number at that).  After a 15 minute wait and a 45 minute phone call, it was determined that the problem either was on my end or with my ISP.  GoDaddy&#8217;s suggestion &#8220;contact your ISP&#8221;.</p>
<p>My first step was to send an email, explaining the complexity of my problem, to Qwest&#8217;s email support.  After several hours of not hearing back, not even an automated email saying &#8220;we received your request&#8221;, I decided I would give the Qwest call center an opportunity to resolve my issue.</p>
<p>&#8220;Thank you for calling Qwest.  We are experiencing a large call volume at this time.  You estimated wait time is <em>MORE THAN TEN MINUTES</em>.&#8221;<br />
<strong><br />
5 Minutes Later (must be said in the Sponge Bob voice over voice).</strong></p>
<p>&#8220;Thank you for calling Qwest.  We are experiecing a large call volume at this time.  You estimated wait time is <em>LESS  THAN TEN MINUTES</em>.&#8221;</p>
<p><strong>5 Minutes Later (must be said in the Sponge Bob voice over voice).</strong></p>
<p>&#8220;Thank you for calling Qwest.  We are experiecing a large call volume at this time.  You estimated wait time is <em>MORE THAN TEN MINUTES</em>.&#8221;</p>
<p>After finally reaching an agent, I spent at least 15 minutes trying to explain what FTP was.</p>
<p><strong>Jason:</strong> I can&#8217;t access my GoDaddy FTP account.  I can access it from work but not from home on the Qwest network. GoDaddy suggested I call you.</p>
<p><strong>Qwest:</strong> Ok Jason. I want to assure you we will get your issue reconfigured (I think he meant to say &#8220;resolved&#8221;) shortly.</p>
<p><strong>Jason:</strong> Fantastic.</p>
<p><strong>Qwest:</strong> Jason, can you see web pages?</p>
<p><strong>Jason:</strong> Ahhhh, Yeah, I like web pages but my problem is with FTP.</p>
<p><strong>Qwest:</strong> Ok, so you are saying you have a problem with FPP.  Let me configure (I think he meant to say &#8220;confer&#8221;) with my colleagues.  {hold music} Ok, Jason, we don&#8217;t support FPP, that is why you are seeing this problem.</p>
<p><strong>Jason:</strong> F-T-P</p>
<p><strong>Qwest:</strong> Ok, let me reconfigure with one of my colleagues.</p>
<p>This went back and forth for over an hour and which point I was told that if I can see web pages the Qwest DSL service is working properly and I would need to hire a local computer technician to solve my problem.</p>
<p>I was at my wits end and decided I would give Qwest one last chance before I canceled my service and looked for a new ISP.  I have had good luck resolving Omniture issues with their world-class support via Twitter so I thought Twitter might be the answer in this case as well.  I found Qwest&#8217;s Twitter account:</p>
<p><strong><a href="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/talk2qwest.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-720" title="talk2qwest" src="http://emptymind.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/talk2qwest.jpg" alt="" width="553" height="98" /></a></strong></p>
<p>Through this Tweet, I was quickly introduced to a top-level engineer at Qwest, who spent 2 hours with me, reconfiguring my network setup, going above &amp; beyond his job to ensure that my network was configured for optimal performance.  Not only did he fix the issue I was having accessing my FTP account, he also increased my network speed by 40% with a few modifications.</p>
<p>Did this one support incident have any impact to Qwest&#8217;s bottom line?  I doubt it.  I&#8217;m just a small customer, but this one event had a huge impact on my view of Qwest.  Not only did I decide to stay with Qwest, at least for 6 more months, I now have a very positive story about how Twitter saved Qwest a customer that I&#8217;m more than happy to share with whomever will listen.</p>
<p>As an analyst, I found myself thinking, how would I measure this?  How could I attribute the use of Twitter as a support tool to a customer&#8217;s lifetime value?  I don&#8217;t have the answers but I do know that companies who are using social media tools in innovative ways (see also: other than lame PR and marketing efforts) are getting a huge jump on their competition.  Companies that are using social media to push PR or who are not using social media at all, will find themselves playing catchup for a long time to come.</p>
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